Walking on Waves

Recently, I heard the song “Walk on Waves” by A&LA on the radio.

Just before I heard the song, I the deejay told their story.

Austin and Lindsey Adamec’s story reminds me so much of a lesson we also learned early in our marriage. Before we were married, I knew how important it would be for me to fully commit to this coaching ministry alongside my husband. I knew if I wasn’t willing to join him, we’d only become a house divided. I’d be fighting for his attention. I know this isn’t the path for every coaching couple, and it certainly isn’t the only “right” way to approach this lifestyle. But for us, it has been the best way. As the Adamecs express in their video, we would be going in different directions.

Nevertheless, I was still very torn early in our marriage. I was teaching at a high school thirty minutes away from the university where my husband coached. Outwardly, I fully dove into ministry with my husband. I was doing all the things I knew God was calling me to. I went to all the university events with my husband. I greeted the baseball players by name at every event. I made sure they knew I cared for them and supported them. And, of course, I went to every baseball game my schedule would allow.

But internally, I still felt divided. For every university event I attended, there was a high school event I missed. Joining my husband felt right, but at the same time, abandoning my high school students felt wrong. When I missed baseball games because I had a commitment at my high school, I felt guilty. I wanted to be in both places as the same time. I knew I was doing what God had called me to, but something about it still out of place. My loyalties were divided

When we moved to California, our lives changed dramatically. For the past two years, I have worked at the same community college where my husband coaches. Now, when I go to college events and baseball games, I am supporting my students. When I invest in this coaching ministry with my husband, I no longer feel as if I am abandoning someone else. Because I teach part time, I have also been blessed to be able to have a lot more control and flexibility with my schedule. I rarely have to miss baseball games due to my work schedule.

I know I’ve expressed how much Peter’s story meant to our marriage before. In fact, Hillsong United’s “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” (listen/watch here) inspired us to finally take the leap of faith to start doing discipleship nights almost three years ago now.

Diving head-first into this ministry has taken a great deal of faith and sacrifice. We’ve truly been walking on waves, but we’ve found that God provides when we trust Him.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

