Discipleship Night 3: Embrace Weaknesses

For our discipleship night yesterday, we planned to show a Louie Giglio video. As I drove home from work, I heard a message on the radio and thought, “I have to share this with the discipleship guys. I need to remember it for next time.” When I got home, our internet was not working, and we could not show the video without an internet connection. After some troubleshooting, there was still nothing. It was as if God was saying, “You need to share that message tonight.”

2 Corinthians 12:9-10: But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

We talked about how often we tend to feel inadequate, and how we can respond to that feeling one of two ways: we can turn back and stay within our comfort zones, or we can work that much harder to rise to the challenge. Ultimately, God not only wants us to rise to the challenge but wants to help us get there. He wants us to rely on him when we are weak and inadequate.

As students, we feel not smart enough. A few guys shared how they had IEPs for learning disabilities and felt that they were not smart enough, but they found that they were successful when they worked harder.

As athletes, we feel not smart enough. A few guys talked about times when they’d struggled with baseball and only struggled more when they listened to negative self-talk.

We talked about feeling inadequate in relationships, at work, with religion, and in other aspects of life.

In closing, my husband and I challenged the guys to seek opportunities to grow in their faith over the next two weeks. We suggested finding a local church, reading the Bible each day, intentionally praying each day, or even downloading a verse-a-day app. We are eager to hear their stories of how these shape their days.

On the Menu:

  • Chicken enchiladas
  • Southwest chop salad
  • Chips with salsa and guacamole
  • Strawberry lemonade cookies
One thought on “Discipleship Night 3: Embrace Weaknesses

Leave a Reply

