Spectating

This is the first post in a series inspired by conveniently-timed photos I’ve taken at baseball intersquads. Here’s today’s photo:

 spectating

As a coach’s wife, I do a lot of spectating. Depending on the season, I spend an average of 3-9 hours each week watching college baseball. That’s a lot of time on the sidelines.

But I see a few baseball players each year spend as much or more time on the sidelines. When they are injured, they are on the sidelines at practice. When they fall behind another player, they may not get as many opportunities in games or practices, so they spend extra time on the sidelines.

I learn the most from these players. Although they seem pushed to the margins, they are far from just spectators. They get involved in any way possible, and they take pride in their roles. Whether it’s shagging foul balls, running the scoreboard, or keeping stats, they commit themselves to staying involved. It would be easy for them to give up, but they don’t even consider it.

They are some of the true leaders in character.

It’s easy to feel uninvolved in this world. It’s easy to feel like we don’t fit in or like we have no purpose, or even that the purpose we have is unimportant or irrelevant. But we don’t get to know who’s inspired by our actions. So we have to stop spectating, even if we are still on the sidelines.

As a coach’s wife, this means I find ways to get involved at the field. As a teacher, it means I take an interest in my students’ lives, and I seize opportunities to grow professionally. As a wife, it means I actively seek ways to love and serve my husband. As a Christ-follower, it means I strive to live out my faith at every turn. As a sister, daughter, and friend, it means I initiate calls to my loved ones far away and keep my word when I’m asked to pray.

But I still find myself spectating far too often, and that’s when I’m thankful for these athletes who remind me to be active in my world.

When do you find yourself prone to spectating in your own life?

Leave a Reply

