Graduation

Today I submitted my final capstone portfolio project for my Master’s in English. I have a few short discussion posts to wrap up over the next couple of days, and then I will be done! (Fingers crossed that I get a passing grade on my portfolio so that I pass the class and will actually be done.)

This has been quite a journey. I started the program in June 2012, when Coach and I were just dating. I took a 10-month hiatus from the program to plan our wedding and move to Kansas. I started back up again just weeks after our wedding, and last summer I wrote a 20-page paper while we were in the process of moving to California. The past 3 years and 3 months have been full of agony and encouragement for me on the academic front.

And I am so ready to be done. I am exhausted.

But now I have (on average) an extra ten hours each week to occupy, and if I’m not intentional about it, I know I’ll waste it away and wonder where it all went.

Here are my plans:

  • Get back into the habit of keeping up on this blog regularly.
  • Exercise an extra 3 hours per week.
  • Take my dog on longer and more frequent walks.
  • Read more, both for spiritual growth and personal enjoyment.
  • Invest more time in my lesson planning and grading.

Chances are, those five items will take up well over ten hours each week easily. I will probably also need to get a bit better at budgeting the time already have. Although my goals may be lofty, I know myself well enough to know my time will be wasted if I don’t aim high.

Still, I am determined to relax and enjoy what’s left of my week.

Leave a Reply

