Away from the Diamond

I planned to write this post weeks ago, but I’ve let the busyness of life get in the way of my writing.

It’s true that I choose to embrace my husband’s career, and I’ve found my calling in his calling. But people often ask me what else I do with my time.

As most coaches’ spouses will tell you, one major key to sanity in this lifestyle is a personal hobby. With the amount of time my husband spends working late or traveling for work, I need to keep myself busy and entertained without relying on his company. This is especially true now that he has started his Master’s degree and is even busier (which I didn’t think was possible).

If you’ve been following this blog at all, you already know I spend plenty of time watching baseball and cooking and baking for baseball players. Even when my husband isn’t coaching, one of our favorite things to do together is watch baseball games. I can certainly see why people would think our whole lives revolve around baseball.

But that’s not all there is to my life.

As a teacher, my own work fills plenty of my time with planning and grading. But I have some extra-curricular activities as well.

My most persistent hobby is reading. I love a wide variety of books. (After all, I am an English teacher.) I’ll go through phases where I’ll devour several books in a month, and phases where I won’t finish a book in over a month.

Right now, another one of my hobbies time-fillers is grad school. Nothing gets me through a weekend without my husband like writing a 20-page research paper. I’ll be finishing my degree in September, but I guess that also means I’ll have to find other hobbies to fill my time.

I used to love all things crafty, but with all the moving I’ve done, I’ve found that craft supplies and crafts just take up extra space and don’t pack well, so aside from a few small projects from time to time, that hobby is on the back burner for now.

Currently, I’m planning two bachelorette parties for close friends of mine, and I’m finding that I really love planning things like this. This blog has also been a great way to fill my time, and I try to stay active and fit in a few ways although I’m far from a fitness guru.

Although these things have been occupying my time, I know some of them will be over soon. I always have reading to go back to, and I’ve been toying with the idea of finding new hobbies to pick up.

Leave a Reply

