Trusting God

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

God used this verse to take over my life just days before I met my husband. I heard it on the radio one morning on my way to work. On my way home that same day, I stopped at the grocery store on my way home from work. As I was leaving the parking lot, the car in front of me had a bumper sticker that said Proverbs 3:5-6. I looked at the clock in my car at that same moment, and it read 3:56. I immediately prayed for God to increase my trust in Him. You know how if you pray for patience God will make you wait? If you pray for trust, He will leave you with no other option.

Days after this event, I met my husband. I didn’t realize at the time just how connected those two events would turn out to be.

One of the most important lessons I learned in the first year of marriage is to trust. First, to trust God, and second, to trust my husband.

This has been a hard lesson for me. I fail at it all the time, and the backlash of my failure is hard to face.

There is nothing but uncertainty in a coach’s life. One day, we can be talking about buying a house and establishing a semi-permanent home, and the next day we can decide to move across the country.

We have to trust that God will provide for our needs.

In July, we really had no idea what was going to be in store for us next. My husband had a few mediocre options, but everything felt like a step backwards. As he was buttoning his shirt to go accept a job, his phone rang. The call presented an opportunity in California—finally an option that seemed like a step forward. The timing combined with the fact that it gave a positive opportunity in the midst of nothing but doubt led us to believe this was orchestrated by God. We made our decision to move with little hesitation. We chose to trust.

When we arrived in California, we quickly learned that nothing was going to be easy here. Here’s a short sequence of events to give you an idea of what I mean:

  • We drove in our two cars separately. I got stuck behind a slow truck and fell a few miles behind. A few miles into the state of California, there was a break in the traffic, and I tried to catch back up, but I was pulled over for speeding.
  • When we attempted to look at the house we’d planned to rent, the key did not work, and the rental office left us on hold for ten minutes before we gave up and returned the key.
  • It took us another several hours to find a rental in our price range that would allow pets.
  • When we found one and went into the office to sign the lease, animal control showed up because we had to leave our dog in the car—we really had no choice.
  • We could only make our deposit with a cashier’s check, and our deposit to our new bank account (because our old bank was based only in Kansas, and we had to close our account when we moved) would not clear for two more days.
  • We finally made the deposit on Friday afternoon, which meant utilities would not be turned on until Monday or later.
  • When the gas was turned on the following Thursday, we discovered our oven’s cord had been chewed by the previous tenant’s dog and needed to be replaced.
  • We learned that the person who told the baseball coaches what they would be earning when they were offered their jobs was misinformed. Of course, we know it’s a good idea to see a contract before moving, but on such short notice, that is not always an option for a coach.
  • In those first two weeks in our house, we were bombarded with ants, countless flies, and once we even came across a scorpion.

We were called to the desert, and when we got there, the plagues came. It wasn’t exactly the magnitude of the exodus, but the spiritual significance of the journey was not lost on us.

After about three weeks, we finally had a day in which no new surprises hit us. A few more came up throughout the next several months, but we continued to learn to trust. After a few months of praying and trusting God to provide, we finally started to settle in. I’m really not sure how we got to where we are.

The only explanation is that God has provided in unexpected ways.

One thought on “Trusting God

Leave a Reply

